Skip to content

Couponing at Rite Aid

October 5, 2010

 

Rite Aid is definitely my favorite place to coupon at….and it’s also the easiest. So if you are just getting started and you have a Rite Aid in your area make sure to start shopping there.

Rite Aid offers a few different ways to save money.

The first is your manufacturer’s coupons (these can come from the inserts in the Sunday paper or online).

The second way to save at Rite Aid is store coupons. Check out http://my.adperk.com/offer/d30b50da#vo. You simply watch a video (these range from 30 seconds to 4 minutes depending on the coupon value) to get store coupons. If you watch 20 videos, you will recieve a bonus of $4 off a $20 purchase. I watch 20 and then print my coupons all at once. You will simply need to sign up for an account (its free). Most of the time they also feature 2 $5 off $25 purchase coupons to watch videos for. These are typically the longer videos but it is well worth it. (Just a note, if you open another browser window it automatically pauses the video.)

The third way to save at Rite Aid is Rebates. Every month I pick up a rebate guide (found next to the sales paper when you enter the store). It tells me all the products that offer rebates for that month. Now I’m just like anyone else, I hate dealing with rebates. However, Rite Aid makes it simple. After you make your purchase you simply log on to https://riteaid.rebateplus.com/rebatelistpage.asp?categories=all&from=123 and enter a few numbers from your receipt. I do this with EVERY receipt even if I don’t think I have earned a rebate. You just never know when you have overlooked something. It takes me about 2 minutes to enter the information. Do not click on the send check button until the END OF THE MONTH. Once you have finished your shopping at Rite Aid for the month, you can have your check mailed to you. It takes a few weeks to recieve it, but it’s worth the effort. If you click on the send check before you are finished shopping for the month then you will not be eligible for additional rebates that month.

The fourth way to save is to get a Wellness card. (This is also required for the rebate program.) You simply fill out a simple form at your store and they give you a card. Make sure to have it scanned every time you go to Rite Aid. There are actually a few ways to save with this card.

1. When you use it to make purchases, it automatically gives you the sales price. You will pay full price if you don’t scan the card.

2. The wellness card is also required for rebate programs.

3. You earn UP rewards. UP rewards are basically a gift certificate you can use on your next purchase at Rite Aid. There are some restrictions (no prescriptions, no alcohol and no tobacco). But I have never had a problem using my UP rewards for my purchase. You MUST SAVE YOUR RECEIPT!!!!!!!! The UP rewards print on the bottom of your receipt and you have to take it to the store with you and let the cashier scan it to recieve the money off. I simply put my receipt in my coupon organizer so that it’s always with me when I go to Rite Aid. Last time I went I earned $12 in UP rewards to use on my next purchase. Also make sure they print on your receipt. Occasionally there will be a glitch and the reward will not print. I check before I leave the store. If they don’t print ask your cashier to correct it for you. (I count up how many UP rewards I will have before entering the store and then check the receipt as I’m leaving to make sure I get that many). Very rarely an UP reward will print twice so you end up with more than you should have….of course that’s a good thing.

4. Your wellness card also builds points. Once you earn so many points you get 10% off your shopping trip. You can actually build up to a level where you recieve 10% off every purchase (for a certain amount of time). However, I doubt that goal is very attainable.

Rite Aid allows you to use one manufacturer coupon and one store coupon for each item. If you purchase two of the same item you can use two manufacturer coupons and two store coupons.

This sounds like a lot, but it’s honestly pretty simple. The most important thing is to make a list with the product, sale price, coupons you are using and UP rewards you will recieve to take to the store with you. I also make sure to have my coupons ready before going in.

This is the order I hand my coupons to the cashier in:

1. Any $ off a certain purchase amount needs to be scanned first.

2. Manufacturer and store coupons.

3. UP rewards

If you don’t have the $ off a certain purchase amount ($5 off $25) scanned first then it will not take it.

Most cashiers will even allow you to do more than one transaction to use more than one $$ off purchase amount coupons and this also allows you to instantly use some UP rewards.

If you have questions, I’ll be happy to answer them. Rite Aid is definitely my favorite store because its easy to save money there! I can easily get things for more than 50% off at Rite Aid. This week I bought $120 worth of stuff for $12.

Good luck!!!!!!

From → Other, Rite Aid

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

